Plasticity

Napowrimo

Day 1
Plasticity

Last night
when I turned
my body
smoothing
the sheets
feeling out
cold spots
with my feet,
tuning the springs
gently
of the bed
with the sliding
of my hip,
This
was no
invitation
for the head
to conspire
with the heart.
Synaptic plasticity
it’s called
when memory
muscles in,
like when cold spots
come to do more,
lest you forgot,
how to recover.
I call it
emotive plasticity.
To rediscover
the center
of the mattress,
that although
you’ve left
I am still verve
growing,
still lucent warmth.

  • Alejandra Garza
    NAPOWRIMO 2017

Prompts:
NaPoWriMo – “I’d like to challenge you to write a Kay-Ryan-esque poem: short, tight lines, rhymes interwoven throughout, maybe an animal or two, and, if you can manage to stuff it in, a sharp little philosophical conclusion.”

Poetics Aside – “For today’s prompt, write a reminiscing poem. In my mind, this means a poem that remembers something (a moment, a relationship, etc.). The poem could be kind of nostalgic or sharing lessons learned. But for those new to these challenges, you should know that I consider these prompts open to interpretation–so if you have another take, go for it.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

