Put to Rest the Firsts of Love

Day 3:

Put to Rest the Firsts of Love


The first to go,
by some slow undetected illness
had to be my eager wakefulness.
It was that feeling, 
like a buzzing before lightning strikes,
I had right before your voice
came through the receiver at late hours
when the rest of the world felt empty.
Sleeplessness was kindling,
and the name that you had for me
as you whispered your goodbye
was like a reckless firebolt.
Next, the sweet nothings
departed suddenly.
Where something pained,
you harvested false spores.
Your devoted words dropped
like amber globs in my hands and
I thought I had the nectar of you.
Words alone won’t make something flourish though.
Honey is suppose to never expire,
heal you when you have trouble speaking.
No suprise you dissolved with my tears.
If I hear that name now, the one you had for me,
by some coincidence, it sounds like static.

  • Alejandra Garza
    NAPOWRIMO 2017

NaPoWriMo – “And now for our (optional) prompt! Today I’d like to challenge you to write an elegy – a poem that mourns or honors someone dead or something gone by. And I’d like to ask you to center the elegy on an unusual fact about the person or thing being mourned.”

Poetics Aside – “For today’s prompt, take the phrase “(blank) of Love,” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles could include: “Water Bottle of Love,” “Smart Phone of Love,” “Toothbrush of Love,” “Tweet of Love,” or any number of blanks of love. I actually kind of love this prompt and am surprised I’ve never done it before.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

